Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

James 5:16 KJV Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.

pinterest.com

So much has happened over the past month, you know. When you are truly before God, He will bring truth, and correction to you in the middle of the night. Between moving and losing a love one it has been difficult but durable with God carrying us.

Prior to us receiving the bad news of my brother-in-law my husband had been working on finishing a basement for friends of the family. I recall them saying no contract was needed from my husband based on the fact that his integrity was enough! In other words a man’s word and a handshake was sufficient. There is no contract but trust, and the God who sits above!

I remember my grandmother telling me if a man’s word wasn’t sufficient then there would be nothing but wasted time, and eventually lost friendships. She said, God was judge. Actually, if one asked for a contract it was rather insulting back then (still is to some) because no one was going to risk their relational capital by breaking their word.

Accountability do you have it, or do you take the easy way out sugar-coating trust?

They really said it at LifeNotes . .  "Accountability, at its core, is being who we say we are and keeping our word . . " @Stephen Brewster   Catch Stephen's newest guest post . . "What is Authentic Accountability?" . . at LifeNotes . . the Cafe blog . .

pinterst.com

So where was I? So even after dealing with the loss of his brother. He has one more room to drywall, some electrical among other things. Don’t forget my husband works on his primary job, has a family too. Our friends were saying he didn’t have to complete since he is in mourning, and can’t imagine his pain. Along with a move, but we know we can depend on God. My husband said, “He is still alive, and that his first core value is “Honoring God.” Which means keeping his word. We honor God in everything we do.

I agree with my husband, that we honor our commitments, even when it is difficult, expensive, or inconvenient for us, because it’s honoring God. Which is above all things on earth. I believe Psalm 15:1-4 is awesome confirmation of this.

1 Lord, who may enter your Temple? Who may worship on Zion, your sacred hill?  2 Those who obey God in everything and always do what is right, whose words are true and sincere, 3 and who do not slander others. They do no wrong to their friends nor spread rumors about their neighbors. 4 They despise those whom God rejects, but honor those who obey the Lord. They always do what they promise, no matter how much it may cost.

Simply put, this means that our word is sacred. If we cannot honor this, then this is why we have a world of contracts that become void. We walk around thinking everyone will screw us over. I believe in doing what’s right. I believe in being accountable at whatever cost because it is Godly. Do you owe someone your time, a service, or money? Honor it !

You ever believed someone or something to be true, but when you looked closely things weren’t what they appeared to be?

pinterest.com

funny tumblr post - Google Search

My, how times have changed. On more than one occasion my husband and I have seen people blatantly dishonor their own word. Both were under contract. The obligations were very explicit. There was no ambiguity involved. Had my husband cancelled out on these friends. It could have cost :

  • the friendship
  • more time for our friends/clients to hire another
  • more money because someone would be picking up where he left off
  • doubt in their mind to trust another
  • dishonoring God’s word
  • ruin my husband’s integrity, and possibly my integrity
  • cost more money possibly to hire another for the job
  • possible court or legal fees

To my husband and I, integrity is trust. If we cannot trust your word, then we cannot trust you. I have clients who trust my word, and that means the Heavens to me. Life gets hard, things take a shift, but I keep my word at all cost. They understand situations out of my control. But I still keep my word. I sleep well with this, and I sleep well knowing I have a husband who has integrity even during the storms to honor his words to God, others and his family. It’s priceless!

Likewise to Christ! Honoring our promises is golden. Who dare lie to God who sees all knows all. He is the one who gives us life.

How do one say I don’t have time to the one who gives time to you?

I really am one who doesn’t argue or create strife. I place wrong doing by anyone towards me into God’s lap. I believe in peace, but I also believe in God handling things better than me. In life we must be sure we are hearing God’s voice as to not rob someone of money or time. Possibly their integrity. Because it’s a domino effect downhill. It never affects one party.

I often wonder why more friends get the short stick (screwed) than strangers. I believe in helping my friends and supporting others in their business. No sin in that. But I believe we ALL are to really self examines ourselves and if someone done to you what you done to another. How would you feel? How would you react?

Never bad mouth the person or slander their name. Move forward. Seek to resolve by other means. Allow God to deal with the unjust. God will provide another open door and give you comfort and peace. Don’t be bitter, or feel devalued because our value is always in Christ, not man. Sure you will be disappointed but it happens to the best of us. We are not exempt from hardships or letdown, but we are beautiful, loved, and forgiven through Christ.

I like to say, “Don’t let them still the son of God from you and you will remain in the sunshine and not in the cold wilderness.”

May you honor God by honoring your word.

I’m proud of my husband actions because it is difficult losing two brothers. He only have a sister left who is older. Hubby is the baby of the bunch! I’m blessed for sure and so are you. “Pray, Seek, and Know God’s word. Don’t water it down to fit your pitcher!” Many will apply God’s word to you, but not to themselves when they are doing wrong. You are only accountable for your actions and words, not others.

If you don’t honor your word then it becomes a lie right? God hates a liar. That’s scripture. These same friends were one of the sincere friends that helped with the move and paid their respect to our loss. Friends are few. How sad it is  that people are willing to burn the honest bridges in their path. There are so few honest bridges remaining. God is a bridge I can cross 24hrs a day without fail.

timelesssignature5

